14 July 1917 – First letter home for two weeks; sails from Gibraltar

DIARY:  Inside breakwater at midnight. Coaled ship and took in provisions and water.  Put to sea at 4pm.diary-025

gibraltar1-2

James cannot say where he is in his letter home:

14 July 1917

Same address

Dear Father & Mother

You will think I am lost not having heard from me for so long. This is the first opportunity I have had of writing as no mails have left the ship for a considerable time.  We have been at sea for several days but we have only got along slowly.

All mails for us have been stopped at home so until we arrive I shall have no home news and then it will all come at once. I had a pleasant surprise just before we started from our last port of call when the postman handed me your letter written from Nelson on June 19th.  It reached me July 4th but this was the only letter for me.  It must have been just one solitary bag.

I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves at Downham & that you were favoured with splendid weather. No doubt you made a good finish to the holiday in your visit to Nelson.

You must not send any more papers as I shall be able to obtain any news I require when we arrive back.

So far we have made a splendid trip and the weather has been first rate. With a little luck we ought to be home before very long now.  And I hope that they will grant us leave if only for a day or two just to run up home & see everyone again.

I am still A1 in fact never felt better in my life as merry and bright as usual.

I shall have a few interesting yarns to spin and I have the satisfaction of having seen at least a little of outside countries.

I will write again as soon as convenient.

Hoping all at home are quite well also Grandma & all at No 26 and at M’ton.

Love & kisses to all

James

19170714-119170714-219170714-3

Leave a Reply

