18 March 1917 – James takes a turn as Cook

18 March 2017

Mess 28

HMS Amphitrite

Portsmouth

Dear Mother & Father

Just a line to let you know that I am still here at Portsmouth.  I cannot give you any idea as to how long I shall remain but I hope it wont be long as it is much nicer when you get settled down.  Yesterday was a lovely day but it was my day aboard so there I had to remain.  Today Davies & myself are ashore and it is quite a Summer afternoon.

We had service on board the Ampithitre this morning & the congregation composed solely of Tars, were assembled in the Fo’castle. The music was supplied by an American organ.

We are now off for a walk along the sea front to Southend on Sea a distance of about 2 miles. Very likely we shall go to service this evening.

I am settling down again to a life on the ocean wave but it takes a little time to get used to things again after a decent leave.

The food here is not as good as in barracks but it is not much to grumble about.

By the way I was cook this morning & had to fry 25 rashers of Bacon etc, and as a special delicacy we had spuds for dinner. There’s nothing more of importance so will close with Best love to all.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Your Loving son

James

img002

19170318-119170318-2

Leave a Reply

