9 November 1916 – Gets kit for HNT Nodzu.

9 November 1916

Thursday

Dear Mother & Father

I am off tomorrow to join HM Trawler Nodzu at Milford Haven and am looking forward to the experience. Seven of us are going to Milford all to different vessels but very likely we shall see one another occasionally.  I have just seen the Irish & Scottish draft off.  We are very widely scattered & I am sorry to loose such decent chums.

We were given some woollen goods today. They were given by outsiders included socks, mitts, comforters & helmets.  I got a woollen helmet & a pair of mitts.  I will write tomorrow night & let you know where I get to.

I think I am rather fortunate in getting a West Coast base don’t you ? Hoping all are well

With best love

James

00010001

DIARY:

Proceeded along with Thomas, Jones, Davies, Moorhouse, Harrop & Evans to

Milford via Severn Tunnel, Newport, Carmarthen to join HMT Nodzu (at Milford Haven)

 

Leave a Reply

