06 September 1916 – 1st Wireless Test needs to be at 12 words/minute.

6 September 1916

Crystal Palace

Dear Mother & Father

Just a line or two to let you know that I have settled down to work again. Things go on much the same but the meat at diner times has improved a good deal this week so far.  We now get the Buzzer at 12 words a minutes and on today’s test I made a fairly decent show.  But do not know my marks as yet.  It is coming more easily to me now and I think I stand a fairly good chance of getting through the 12 words min test on Tuesday next.  I have seen another fellow I know.  He went to Mnc (1) Tech School with me last winter.

It has been rather cold this last 2 mornings but it is a lovely day today. I felt very tired on Monday & Tuesday but I turned into my hammock early both evenings and feel fresh enough now.  The lunch buns are going down as usual but I have not tested the jam as yet.  Our daily round is very uneventful & is practically the same from day to day.  We are having another lecture this afternoon.

I ma writing this in the dinner hour & am just going for a little fruit to the YMCA canteen so Ta Ta and best love to all.

James

  • Mnc = Manchester

19160906-119160906-2

Leave a Reply

